News Alessandro Cortese, Lisa Vucetti y Tim Lubat, champions of the Euromarina Optimist Trophy Torrevieja

Alessandro Cortese, Lisa Vucetti y Tim Lubat, champions of the Euromarina Optimist Trophy Torrevieja

The fourth and final day has been closed with 3 races in all classes, under very good wind conditions

Torrevieja - January 26, 2020

The Italians Alessandro Cortese (CV Crotone) and Lisa Vucceti (SV Barcola Grigano) and the balear Tim Lubat (CN S’Arenal – FBV) are the new champions of the 13th Euromarina Optimist Torrevieja Trophy, after closing the fourth and final day developed under some very good wind and sea conditions, accompanied by a splendid sun, an element absent in the previous three days.

The Irishman Rocco Wright (HYC) was leading this last day, but today was not his day, even though he scored a 1st in the second race of the day. In the first one he did not exceed 9th place while in the last one a DNC definitely took him away from the podium. The italian Cortes has not been very fine, but much more regular than Wright. Thanks to the partials of 3-16-4, he has allowed him to take over from his compatriot Marco Grandoni (he has finished his Optimist cycle) at the head of the Euromarina Trophy.

Lisa Vucetti, meanwhile, has taken the title in females taking over from the balear María Perelló (she has finished her cycle in Optimist), in addition, the bronze is hung in the absolute general. Vucetti also did not start the day well, since a 29th in the first of the day moved him away from the podium, but not in the category of women. In the second he improved with a 3rd that now put him on the podium, thanks also to the partial results of his direct opponents. A circumstance that was also going to be repeated in the third, although the Italian could not overcome the 11th place.

The top ten of the general closes with the British Santi Sesto-Cosby (8 Days a Week), fourth, adding 54 points. Jaime Ayarza (RCN Gran Canaria), 61 points, has been qualified after him, followed by Niccolò Pulito (TMV-National Italy), 68; Marc Mesquida (CN S’Arenal – FBV), 78; Roberto Aguilar (CNM Benalmádena), 97; Nora García (CN Masnou), 111 and Xavier García (FBV) with 114 points.

As for the SUB13 category the champion has been the Balearic Tim Lumbat (FBV), in the absolute general he has finished in 20th place. In this final series and with regard to today’s day Lumbat has signed partials of 38-24-64.

As regards the local sailor, Adrian Castro (RCN Torrevieja) has confirmed that it has been the best. Castro says goodbye to the trophy organized in his house in the 55th position of the general. On this fourth day, in the gold group, he signed partials of 26-81-36.

The trophy delivery has been held on the Club terrace, with the assistance of the representatives of the municipality of Torrevieja: Diana Box, Councilor for Sports; Ricardo Recuero, of Culture; Adolfo Gutiérrez de Rubalcava, Military Commander Zone Alicante; Carmen Casco, president of IODA Europe; Javier Clement, president AECIO Comunitat Valenciana; Carlos Torrado, president of the FVCV; Patricia and Antonio Quesada, co-directors of Euromarina; Javier Riquelme, COX Energy; Mª Tomasa Rives, Hello Bank; Germán Soler president of RCN Torrevieja, who has been accompanied by Carlos Carmona and Andrei Stepanov, Vice President and Vocal de Vela respectively.